Thursday, June 9, 2011

Starbucks Vegan Options

I know this isn't a cooking post, but I'm gonna post it anyways.

I get a lot of people (customers, friends) asking me what Starbucks foods / drinks are vegan-friendly. I decided to make a post about it while I was at, none other than, my favorite Starbucks!

My breakfast of choice: a chai tea (not the latte, the tea) with a couple splendas and some coconut milk I brought in myself because I'm such a picky bitch (it's in the purple/orange tumbler). I also had a toasted plain bagel, which I promptly ate and is not in this picture....:-]

Ok, so anyways.

The basics

Black coffee and teas are vegan friendly, of course. French-press it, get it off the Clover, drink it iced, drink a VIA packet, have it as a pour-over - it's all good for us and the animals. The iced teas and tea lemonades are vegan, too, of course!

Some lattes can be made to be vegan if you substitute soymilk for the normal 2% milk. Here is the list of vegan-friendly soy lattes:

Lattes

Vanilla Soy Latte
Toffee Nut Soy Latte
Hazelnut Soy Latte
Cinnamon Dolce Soy Latte (However, make sure you request no cinnamon topping; the topping is made with BUTTER. Weird!)
Caramel Soy Latte (Only caramel SYRUP, the caramel SAUCE/DRIZZLE is not vegan.)
Coconut Soy Latte
Peppermint Soy Latte
Raspberry Soy Latte
Classic Soy Latte
(No, the Pumpkin Spice Latte is not vegan. Sorry!)

Side Note: Because the Caramel Macchiato is made with the caramel drizzle, it's NOT vegan. 

Specialty Drinks

Soy No Whip Mocha (Yes, mocha is vegan! Surprise!)
Soy Earl Grey Tea Latte
Soy Awake Tea Latte
Soy Vanilla Rooibos Tea Latte
Soy Green Tea Latte
Soy Hot Chocolate
Vanilla Steamers (Also any vegan-friendly syrup steamer)


Blended Stuff

Some frappuccinos, if made with soy and no whipped cream can be vegan. These include:

Mocha frappuccino
Caramel Frappuccino (no caramel drizzle!)
Vanilla Bean Frappuccino
Cafe Vanilla Frappuccino
Coffee Frappuccino
Coconut Cream Frappuccino
Mocha Coconut Frappuccino
Green Tea Frappuccino

The java chips aren't vegan, so java chip fraps and double chocolatey chip fraps are off-limits. :-[ Sad!

Also, apparently there's this whole ordeal where the strawberry puree has beetle juice in it. So...don't eat that shit. Even if you're NOT vegan, you really don't want to be eating beetle juice, do you?

Vivanno Smoothies can be made vegan, too! Just request it made with soy and no protein powder - the powder is whey, so it's dairy-based!


Stuff on the iffy side

Soy Chai Latte
If you are one of those vegans who doesn't think there's anything wrong with eating honey, you can have your soy chai latte guilt-free!

Sugar-free Soy Lattes
Some vegans don't eat splenda because it's tested on animals. If you don't mind so much, sugar-free soy lattes are a-ok.

Coffee Frappuccino Light
Again, the splenda situation. You decide.

Food

Right now, the only vegan options Starbucks has are these:


Plain Bagel
Multigrain Bagel
Fruit Cup
Sesame Noodle Bistro Box
Bananas
2 Moms in the Raw Granola Bars
Nut packets
Kind Bars
The little packets of fruit chew / twist things
Dried Fruit

Anyways. That's my comprehensive list of vegan Starbucks situations. Enjoy!

86 comments:

  1. Thank you so much! Most of the other forums on this subject contain incomplete lists that still left me wondering about certain options. One post, for example, simply said that the Cinnamon Dolce drink was off limits, which had me pretty disappointed, so I'm very happy that you specified that only the topping was non-vegan, not the mix itself. Phew! Thanks again for the great post!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Aww, I'm so glad it helped you! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have read that many coffee drinks have egg products to give them the frothy topping, is this true even of a soy sugar free drink from starbucks?

      Delete
    2. I have read that many coffee drinks have egg products to give them the frothy topping, is this true even of a soy sugar free drink from starbucks?

      Delete
    3. Not at all...

      That "frothy topping" is just steamed milk (or in your desired case, soy milk) foam. That annoying thing used when making drinks that goes "CHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE" is a milk steamer.

      -Starbucks Barista dude

      Delete
  3. I wanted to let you know that I use this post almost daily for reference, and I appreciate it sooo much. However, earlier today I was looking at a post somewhere else that had ingredients for some of the things that go into making drinks, and it said that the vanilla bean powder only contained vanilla bean concentrate and sugar. I've been getting mixed results trying to find out if it really is vegan, and I was wondering what was in the vanilla bean powder that wasn't vegan? I suppose to be 100% safe I'll have to ask the barista when they aren't busy to look at the ingredients for me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think you're right! I'll update this. :)

      Delete
  4. Hi, and thanks for the post. Are you saying the soy chai latte contains honey? Could you please be more specific? What about the mango (no-whip) frappucino?
    Will (TokyoVegan)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Soy chai lattes do contain honey. We don't have mango frappuccinos in the states, so I'm not sure. :(

      Delete
  5. So is a shaken passion iced tea lemonade (sweetened) vegan??? My cousin swears it made with Splenda, but I'm not so sure. I hope it is!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Not made with splenda, you're safe. :)

      Delete
  6. What about the sugar? Do you know if that is filtered through bone char? I love all of these drinks, but if the sugar isn't vegan, I still can't have any ):

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you're investigating where the sugar comes from, you're not going to be able to eat out anywhere at all. Sorry, hon, sugar's in everything, and 99% of food places don't care about bone char.

      Delete
    2. if you just get no sugar in your drink the sugar in the raw starbucks has should be vegan..?

      Delete
    3. You can order a soy latte and add raw sugar or agave.

      Delete
    4. Actually, because veganism is becoming more popular, places are starting to source sugar that has not been processed through bone char (even certain inorganic ones). This is a big step for animal rights and honestly if vegans would take a step back and demand, through group effort, that this "proprietary information" become public knowledge instead of saying "Oh, but it's so convenient and tastes so good" then Starbucks might have no other choice. But saying, "Oh well. You might as well just give up and never eat out." is an easy way for companies to continue not being held accountable. As for me, I stick with companies that can show me that their foods do not cause or come from any animals being harmed. Because this is doable and for a company to hold back this information instead of readily giving it to the public, well they must not want to lose money on all the vegans no longer having their Toffee Nut Soy Lattes. I know it seems a little sad at first because of how good it tastes, but this is in a similar way to when we gave up ice cream or cheese pizza. *hugs* There are alternatives. It just takes a little while to find them. :)

      Delete
  7. Good to know, this is super handy!

    ReplyDelete
  8. The part about some vegans not minding Splenda being tested on animals made me cringe. But thanks for the info.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too but it is a nice list to have nonetheless.

      Delete
    2. It made me cringe as well, I don't know how a person would use splenda.

      Delete
  9. So, the oatmeal is not vegan? I just got a "free oatmeal" card in the mail and wanted to know if I could use it. Is it made with milk? Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Just found this site -- which DOES list the oatmeal as vegan:
      http://www.veganeatingout.com/starbucks/

      Delete
    2. Yep, oatmeal's vegan. :)

      Delete
  10. Thanks a bunch. I just had a soy chai latte last week. It was so good but I didn't know about the honey. I will try a different one next time. I will have to try to make some type of chai drink at home. I love chai.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ask for a soy chai tea misto with one of the vegan friendly syrups, I like vanilla. They use the tea bags, half water, half soy, and then a syrup to sweeten it.

      Delete
    2. I forgot to comment back to this. I also haven't tried it yet but I have been doing chai at home and soy green tea latte when I go to Starbucks. I love those things. :)

      Delete
  11. Isn't the new sesame noodle box with to tofu vegan? I heard somewhere that it was.

    ReplyDelete
  12. The strawberries and creme frap is no longer vegan... the sauce they used has been altered and now contains "Cochineal extract" in other words crushed up BUGS used for dye (GROSS! and not very vegan!!)
    here is the news story:

    http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-504763_162-57405140-10391704/starbucks-strawberry-frappuccinos-dyed-with-crushed-up-cochineal-bugs-report-says/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The Strawberry Juice has been changed and is now Vegan friendly - you can thank a Vegan Starbucks Partner (employee) for bringing this to the companies attention, and to the company for making the change! The transition took place during the summer so all stores will have made the change by now.

      Delete
  13. Hey! I just wanted to let you know that I posted a link to this page on my vegan blog because it's so helpful! I love Starbucks and up until reading this I had no idea what I could order.

    here's the link in case you want to see how i mentioned it: http://veganlips.wordpress.com/2012/04/20/being-vegan-at-starbucks/

    Thanks so much, xo
    Gina

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aww, yay! I'm glad you liked it so much. :)

      Delete
  14. Do you guys know if any of their food offerings contain Gluten.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. All of the items in the pastry case contain some form of gluten. The only thing that doesn't is the Canadian version of the Marshmallow Dream Bars.

      -Starbucks Barista

      Delete
  15. Thanks so much! This is truly helpful, but I've done some research on the mocha powder they use for mocha drinks and discovered that there are a bit of milk products in it! If you could clear up this problem, it would be much appreciated!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you give me your source, I'd be glad to change it. Since I worked at Starbucks for years and never heard of this, I'm reluctant to change it because I'm not sure it's true.

      Delete
  16. Replies
    1. White Mocha contains both dairy and egg products.

      -Starbucks Barista

      Delete
  17. Hi there! Great post!
    I'm a vegan barista at Starbucks, and I want to confirm what was said on this page. (And the vanilla bean powder is vegan.)
    Good news: Starbucks is actually going to change the recipe for the strawberry puree! They're listening. :)

    I assume that all of the products with sugar are made with the standard white sugar. (Sorry to those of you who avoid it!)

    The lemonade iced teas can be sweetened or unsweetened. The lemon juice contains a bit of sugar already, but it's still pretty tart.

    Have a great day!

    ~Anna Rose~
    mailannarose@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  18. P.S. White mocha syrup contains milk, but the other mocha does not. Noodle boxes are indeed vegan. :)

    ReplyDelete
  19. My hubby just found this post. Thank you so much for posting it. We've been vegan for almost a year (veggie for 3 prior) and we love Starbucks so it is nice to not have to guess at what we can and cannot drink.

    Thanks again.

    ReplyDelete
  20. Awesome! This is really great content. Thank you so much for confirming my soy mocha habit :)

    ReplyDelete
  21. So the Vanilla Soy milk is vegan? Really? I thought because of the vanilla it might not be, idk, but glad it is. Too bad about the Caramel Machiato though, thats my favorite!! :( But, just so I understand, the caramel dizzle isnt vegan but the vanilla syrup that goes in the caramel machiatto and the caramel syrup that goes in the Caramel frapuccino are vegan?? Really? How about all the other syrups? Thanks, very interesting post, btw.
    Natalia, recently vegan converted! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Look at this Post Punk Kitchen forum: http://www.forum.theppk.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=5174 While the syrup itself may contain no animal products they do contained processed sugar, which relies on charcoal during the refining process. Charcoal CAN be made from animal bones. But yes, the caramel SAUCE is not vegan (along with the white mocha, the pumpkin spice, and the caramel brule syrups) because it most likely contains some combination of butter, cream, and/or non-fat dry milk.

      Delete
    2. If you're looking at how your sugar is processed, then you're probably not going to be able to eat anything made by anyone else / made in a restaurant or store. Sugar is in everything, and most people don't care how their sugar's processed.

      Delete
    3. Actually, because veganism is becoming more popular, places are starting to source sugar that has not been processed through bone char (even certain inorganic ones). This is a big step for animal rights and honestly if vegans would take a step back and demand, through group effort, that this "proprietary information" become public knowledge instead of saying "Oh, but it's so convenient and tastes so good" then Starbucks might have no other choice. But saying, "Oh well. You might as well just give up and never eat out." is an easy way for companies to continue not being held accountable. As for me, I stick with companies that can show me that their foods do not cause or come from any animals being harmed. Because this is doable and for a company to hold back this information instead of readily giving it to the public, well they must not want to lose money on all the vegans no longer having their Toffee Nut Soy Lattes.

      Delete
  22. Just an FYI that, if you're in Canada, the Ginger Molasses Cookie is not vegan. It contains egg and whey.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Just curious as to what's not vegan about the Pumpkin Spice lattes ... I admit I'm not vegan but I am allergic to dairy and eggs, so looking for vegan stuff (and then trying to find out if it's gluten-free) keeps me safe(r) in shops and restaurants.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I work at Starbucks, and the first ingredient is MILK, so if you have allergies or are vegan...stay away!

      Delete
  24. This post is great; thank you! I'm going to link to it in my old Starbucks blogpost that gets a ton of hits b/c everyone wants to know.

    P.S. I can't believe about the powder with the Cinnamon Dolce; that's just nasty and unneccessary.

    ReplyDelete
  25. Do you know the origin of the enzymes in the plain bagel? I just looked it up on the Starbucks website, and while everyone is saying plain bagels are vegan, they may well not be because of the enzymes. 3:

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I never get this far in veganism because I feel it's extreme and makes your life far too difficult.

      Delete
    2. I agree with you Abbie. I am vegan, but not to the extreme that I look at enzymes... actually you might be thinking of source of yeast? If you don't eat yeast because it is from a "live organism" then you wouldn't eat yogurt, kombucha.. etc. Of course if you are willing to go to such lengths, kudos! But I agree that being so extreme will make life so hard. As vegans, we do what we can and what we do is already far more than what non-vegans/vegetarians do. YOU are already making a difference! I see veganism as a spectrum, the more you can do, the better! Anything helps :]

      Delete
  26. The Sbux website states the molasses cookie contains milk and eggs...?

    ReplyDelete
  27. There's more there at Starbucks that I can drink than I thought. Thanks for posting! I did not know I could do soy with fraps. I just never thought about it. Too bad they don't have soy whipped cream! (Are you listening, Starbucks?!)

    ReplyDelete
  28. I might be late to the game on the whole discussion, but the chai that is used "in the store" is vegan. Check out this Post Punk forum: http://www.forum.theppk.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=6469 The In-store chai is sweetened with the classic syrup, while the commercially sold chai contains honey. Also FYI, the Cinnamon Dolce sprinkles ARE NOT VEGAN. They contain butter; and some (all?) of the KIND bars contain honey. Hope that helps other Starbuck aficionados out there.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. As a Starbucks employee, I used chai syrup made with honey, so the postpunk forum is wrong. I don't remember the kind bars containing honey, but if you can tell me which ones do, I'll research it and edit it. Thanks for the tip on the sprinkles, it's already posted in this blog post. ;)

      Delete
    2. If you go to the Kind website and filter the bars by ingredient you can tell which ones have honey (the entire range SBUX carries). http://www.kindsnacks.com/store#ingredients/Honey

      Delete
    3. Yeah, current partner. Honey is listed on the kind bars :(

      Delete
  29. Abbie, you are right on with the chai. I am a partner too, and I gasped when I realized it had honey…more because I had JUST DONE THAT POST! Not sure how many KIND bars have honey. I will need to check it out.

    ReplyDelete
  30. I didn't know the bagels were vegan! Yay! Could've had one just now with my soy latte! :)

    Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  31. I see a Peppermint Soy Latte is vegan and a Mocha frap, so is a Peppermint Mocha Soy Latte safe?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, just make sure you ask them to leave off the whip cream!

      Delete
  32. I just decided to do go vegan for three months and was missing my S*bux. Thanks for the great post! Super excited mocha's are vegan as they are my drink of choice!!

    ReplyDelete
  33. Thank you for this! I panicked when I saw that a soy chai latte wasn't on the list but thankfully I do eat honey. I'd prefer if it was raw, local honey but I'll take what I can get. Also excited the green tea frap is vegan!

    Now if only they'd stop charging for soy.

    ReplyDelete
  34. Thanks for this! I've made a list for the UK version of Starbucks http://www.thomasbrunskill.me/2013/01/a-guide-to-being-vegan-at-starbucks-in.html

    ReplyDelete
  35. Hello Abby,
    Thank you sooo much for putting this up :) I have been here in US for last 1.5 yrs and always assumed that Bagels have eggs :p
    So glad to have found out this info, Now I can have at least a bagel for the lunch on the super busy day rather than being empty stomach :)

    ReplyDelete
  36. i just started doing vegan for health reasons, so this is so helpful. i have been DYING for a soy mocha anyway! I never get whip anyway, because of the calories...so THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!

    ReplyDelete
  37. I see that the Toffee Nut Soy Latte is vegan. I usually get a half Toffee Nut/half Caramel Frappuccino. Would this be considered vegan if there is no caramel drizzle/sauce?

    Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  38. Are you sure that the vanilla syrup used in the lattes is vegan? "Natural flavor" is listed as an ingredient, which may or may not be vegan. (I asked Starbucks what was in the natural flavor, and they told me that was proprietary information.)

    ReplyDelete
  39. I just wanted to update that the Kind bars are not vegan - they contain honey, but they are gluten-free.

    And for a vegan chai alternative, I order a soy chai misto, with a tea bag, water and a bit of soy. It saves over a 100 calories too.

    ReplyDelete
  40. Whenever I ask about mochas at Starbucks, they always say they use the ghiridelli (sp?) chocolate syrup, which has milk in it. I wonder if this differs by location? I've also gotten the "Starbucks Hot Chocolate" mix at Costco, which is vegan, but when I asked what they use to make hot cocoa at Starbucks, they say they use the syrup...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Starbucks stores in Barnes and Noble use Ghirardelli and maybe some other "Proudly Brew" Starbucks stores. I know you can purchase a mocha sauce from the Starbucks website that is not what is used in the stores, and that also contains milk. However, all free standing corporate run Starbucks use an "add-water" mix. The mocha sauce is mixed fresh daily and, IMHO tastes, far superior to the Ghirardelli sauce. I never knew the mocha sauce was vegan. This is great information!

      Delete
  41. YOU are so FLIPPIN AWESOME!!!!!!!! You don't know how appreciated and thankful of this post :]

    ReplyDelete
  42. caramel sauce or dizzle ingredients: CORN SYRUP, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, BUTTER (CREAM, SALT), CREAM, WATER, NONFAT DRY MILK, NATURAL FLAVOUR, MONO AND DIDLYCERIDES (4471), PRESERVATIVE: POTASSIUM SORBATE (E202), SOY LECITHIN (AN EMULSIFIER, E322), SODIUM BICARBONATE (E500ii).

    ReplyDelete
  43. from their website http://www.starbucksstore.com/fontana-caramel-sauce/000188039,default,pd.html?utm_campaign=bazaarvoice&utm_medium=SearchVoice&utm_source=RatingsAndReviews&utm_content=Default

    ReplyDelete
  44. Awesome! Except the part about the Pumpkin Latte! I guess I'll just have to make my own Cinnamon Pumpkin Chai Latte, and then I can use whatever nut milk I like and Sugar in the Raw instead of honey! (I prefer unsweetened organic almond milk for a skinnier beverage.) Mmmm!

    Is it okay if I link to this post from my blog? ( http://90dayveganchallenge.blogspot.com/ )

    ReplyDelete
  45. Any news on whether the "natural flavoring" in the cinnamon dolce syrup is vegan or beaver anal gland secretions as been rumored?

    ReplyDelete
  46. Some kind bars with chocolate also contain milk powder, just a heads up :)

    ReplyDelete
  47. I know you guys are more concerned with animal products in general but i made a list of the dairy free items for lactose intolerant people at starbucks, might help some people
    http://ihateyoumilk.com//places-to-eat/lactose-dairy-free-starbucks

    ReplyDelete
  48. Thanks!! I've always been curious and afraid to get something that wasn't vegan!! It's greatly appreciated!! :)

    ReplyDelete
  49. Im yourtea-Shop findest du eine Fülle von exklusiven und interessanten Teemischungen. Manche Tees ergänzen sich hervorragend in ihrer Geschmacksnote und werden von uns mit viel Erfahrung komponiert. Grüner Tee, weißer Tee oder Rooibos, alle diese Mischungen sorgen für Abwechslung und für einen runden und vollmundigen Geschmack. Manche Sorten schmecken so fein, dass sie ohne Zucker ihr Aroma am besten entfalten, andere Nuancen lassen sich mit Zucker oder Kandis hervorragend abrunden.s

    ReplyDelete